Home About Us - Main Page Our Chapters - Main Page Calendar     Maryland 400 - Main Page 250th Anniversary - Main Page   Membership - Main Page Genealogical Resources - Main Page Youth Programs - Main Page Contact Us       Member Section - Main Page
Maryland Society, Sons of the  American Revolution

Little Meadows is located at the foot of Meadow Mountain in western Maryland. It was a common stopping point for British troops during the French and Indian War and was frequented by George Washington.

After a failed attempt to ask the French to leave the Ohio territory in 1753, Governor Robert Dinwiddie sent Lieutenant Colonel George Washington of the new Virginia Regiment to drive out the French. Starting out from Wills Creek (now Cumberland, Maryland), the expedition stopped at Little Meadows in early May 1754 to make camp. Washington wrote Dinwiddie on May 9, commenting on the local terrain impeding their progress.[1] Washington and his men moved on to ambush French forces and construct Fort Necessity, where they were eventually defeated and forced to return to Cumberland. The ambush and subsequent engagement proved to be a major spark of the French and Indian War, and the larger, worldwide, Seven Years' War.


Officers

Telephone

Email

President

Robert M. Moore

301-707-5352

president.little-meadows@mdssar.org

Vice President

David L. Frederick

304-289-3720

vicepresident.little-meadows@mdssar.org

Secretary

Thomas A. Carr

301-245-4004

secretary.little-meadows@mdssar.org

Treasurer

David C. Beard

301-616-6868

treasurer.little-meadows@mdssar.org

Genealogist



genealogist.little-meadows@mdssar.org

Registrar

David L. Frederick

304-289-3720

registrar.little-meadows@mdssar.org

Chaplain



chaplain.little-meadows@mdssar.org

Chapter Email - Little-Meadows@mdssar.org

Annual Meeting - January

Serving Allegany and Garrett Counties

Calendar  Documents  Pictures  Little Meadows Chapter Click - If you would like to join        Little Meadows

Copyright © 2022 - Maryland Society, Sons of the American Revolution | All Rights Reserved

Daniel Earnshaw - MDSSAR Secretary

Legal | Contact

Mark D. Deeds - MDSSAR Webmaster - webmaster@mdssar.org


Powered by Interserver.net