Welcome to the Maryland Society of the Sons of the American Revolution!



A Message From Our President:

The society is an organization that promotes patriotic, historical and educational objectives, including the perpetuation of the memory of the men and women, who by their sacrifices during the American Revolution, achieved the independence of the American people. The 750-plus members of the Maryland Society participate to achieve these goals through fifteen chapters as well as a member-at-large category.

On behalf of our members, I invite you to join us in patriotic activities and outreach programs in the communities we serve. As you will see from the website, we conduct scholarship and recognition programs for high school and elementary school students, for ROTC and JROTC cadets, as well as Eagle Scouts. We have a very active MDSSAR Color Guard who, along with other members of our organization, will go into school classrooms, often in Revolutionary War uniforms or other period dress, to assist classroom teachers in their teaching of the American Revolution, the Declaration of Independence and the United States Constitution.

We recognize our public servants by presenting awards to our public safety officials, perform volunteer work with Veterans, and conduct Revolutionary War Patriots grave markings. Our chapters proudly recognize individuals, schools, and businesses with Flag Certificates for their proper and prominent display of our American Flag.We are an active participant in patriotic programs and parades. Our outreach programs include support of the Children of the American Revolution with many of our 15 chapters providing direct support to them. As you peruse the information on the website, I hope that you come away with a better understanding of Maryland Society as well as the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution and our goals. I invite you to look at our programs and should you need any additional information do not hesitate to contact the committee chairmen or myself.

Thank you for visiting the website.


James F. Engler, Sr.
President 2015 - 2016