Col. John E. Howard Chapter Memorial at Grey Rock

The Col. John Eager Howard Chapter held its annual memorial on June 7th with a great turnout. President Jean S. Fugett Jr. opened the ceremony with march in of colors by our MDSSAR Color Guard Troops including David Embrey, Bruce French, David Hoover, Robert Lyons, and Bill Robertson. Their uniforms and the flags were impressive.  VIPs of several organizations attended. Our State President James F. Engler Sr. presented the MDSSAR Wreath during the memorial and spoke of the accomplishments of the chapter. Past President Christos Christou Jr. served as master of ceremonies for President Fugett who thanked him and other Past Presidents including Ivan V. Dooley Jr. and Edward A. Foreman Jr. for their years of work in getting the monument erected.  Young Maryland C.A.R. Officer Leah Paire represented President Ruhm who is currently in Europe speaking on behalf of the CAR and inviting the SAR to help with the upcoming state project - the restoration of the George Washington Monument in Baltimore City that coincidentally is on the land donated by Col. Howard. Sr. Maryland C.A.R. President Holly Atherton and Mrs. Lucille Rogers who helped work with the Grey Rock Community Association to get the monument placed in its current courtyard location were in attendance as well. The event finished with several musket firings by the outstanding Maryland Color Guard